Life is Beautiful….

The Law of the Garbage Truck…

Posted on: July 12, 2013

The Law of the Garbage Truck:

One day I hopped in a taxi and we took off for the airport.
We were driving in the right lane when suddenly a black car jumped out of a parking space right in front of us.

My taxi driver slammed on his brakes, skidded, and missed the other car by just inches!

The driver of the other car whipped his head around and started yelling at us!

My taxi driver just smiled and waved at the guy. And I mean, really friendly.

So I asked, “Why did you just do that? This guy almost ruined your car and sent us to the hospital!”
This is when my taxi driver taught me what I now call, “The Law of the Garbage Truck.”

He explained that many people are like garbage trucks. They run around full of garbage(frustration, anger, and disappointment, etc.). As their garbage piles up, they need a place to dump it and sometimes they’ll dump it on you.

Don’t take it personally. Just smile, wave, wish them well, and move on. Don’t take their garbage and spread it to other people at work, at home, or on the streets.

Final Words:

Successful people do not let garbage trucks take over their day. Life’s too short to wake up in the morning with regrets, so… love the people who treat you right & pray for the ones who don’t.
Life is ten percent what you make it and ninety percent how you take it!

Have a blessed, garbage-free life.

1 Response to "The Law of the Garbage Truck…"

I also have a personal law of garbage truck.

I was working with a difficult company at difficult times. I used to travel to office on my bike; I was getting weary of the situation. I was thinking of quitting but not muster up enough courage.

Once on my commute, I happened to follow a garbage truck that appeared at front, and I had to slowly follow the smelly heap of organic matter through morning rush hour traffic.

I was upset already with yesterday’s interaction with boss and client. I was tired, not wanting to go to office and not willing to take defeat due to garbage truck’s getting ahead of me. I pressed on with my bike, trying to outmaneuver the driver of truck. But he did not notice me and kept up his speed and I was just following the smelly dump for good few minutes. I just was not able to get rid of it.

The stench, the frustration and the feeling of helplessness was high. After a few seconds of frustrating effort of overtaking it; a realization dawned on me. I simply reduced my speed to regular and slowed near curb. I simply parked my bike and waited for a few minutes

Stench was gone, air felt fresh and I felt good that I finally got rid of the garbage truck – though after conceding “defeat”. Slowly it also dawned on me that my current job was a garbage truck and it was not worth following. I had put in enough effort in last few months and it was not going anywhere.

I resigned the same day.

Got another job – things are fine; so far so good. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Author

Mark a moment ( Calendar)

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Sep »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

I am on Twitter

Blog Stats

  • 15,077 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 113 other followers

